CEIDG — the Central Register and Information on Economic Activity — records every natural person conducting business in Poland. For a foreign buyer or lender, the register answers one foundational question: does this individual trader exist as a legal entity, and what activity is formally registered? What it cannot answer is equally important: CEIDG carries no charges, no pledges, no insolvency markers, and no financial statements. Collateral value cannot be read from CEIDG alone.
- What it shows
- Name, NIP, REGON, registered address, PKD activity codes, status (active / suspended / struck off), and date of entry. Source: CEIDG (ceidg.gov.pl) · verified July 2026.
- Cost of access
- Free of charge, no login required. The register is public under the Act on Freedom of Economic Activity.
- Access condition
- Search by name, NIP, or REGON. No national identifier is required from the searcher.
- What it does not show
- Charges, pledges, tax arrears, insolvency proceedings, bank accounts, or financial statements. None of these fields exist in CEIDG.
Why CEIDG matters for collateral assessment
A sole trader (jednoosobowa działalność gospodarcza) in Poland has no separate legal personality. Business assets and personal assets form one estate. A lender taking security over business equipment or receivables is taking security over personal property. That distinction shapes every subsequent register check.
CEIDG confirms that the person is registered, active, and authorised to conduct the stated activity. It does not confirm that the person owns any specific asset, that the asset is unencumbered, or that no enforcement action is pending. Those facts require separate registers — each with its own access path and its own cost.
The full collateral picture: registers beyond CEIDG
Because a sole trader's estate is undivided, a complete collateral check covers at least four registers beyond CEIDG. Each is described below with its access condition and the specific gap it closes.
| Register | What it closes | Access | Cost | Key limit |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rejestr Zastawów (Ministry of Justice) | Registered pledges over movables and receivables | Centralna Informacja; search by debtor or asset | DW-1 (by debtor) 20 PLN · DW-2 (by asset) 20 PLN · certified extract DW-4 15 PLN | Covers only pledges registered under the Act on Registered Pledges. Ordinary civil pledges and financial collateral are not entered here. |
| Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych (Ministry of Finance) | Tax authority liens over assets | e-Urząd Skarbowy; free search by asset | Free search; wypis / zaświadczenie 50 PLN | Covers only liens arising from tax enforcement. A clean result here does not exclude a pledge in the civil register. |
| KRZ — Krajowy Rejestr Zadłużonych (krz.ms.gov.pl) | Insolvency and restructuring proceedings | Public, no login; search by PESEL, NIP, KRS, or case reference | Free | Contains only proceedings opened after 1 December 2021. Earlier proceedings were published in MSiG and are not migrated to KRZ. |
| Biała lista (podatki.gov.pl) | VAT status, registered bank accounts, exclusion history | Public, no login; historical date query available | Free | Shows accounts declared to the tax authority. Does not show undeclared accounts or accounts held abroad. |
| EKW — Electronic Land and Mortgage Register | Ownership and mortgages over real property | Search by KW number only; name search not available to private parties | Free to view; certified extract carries a fee | KW number must be obtained from the land cadastre (ewidencja gruntów) first. Without the KW number, the register cannot be queried by name. |
| CEPiK / historiapojazdu.gov.pl | Vehicle history and encumbrances | Free; requires registration number, VIN, and date of first registration simultaneously | Free | Owner's name is not disclosed. The system shows only a count of previous owners. History begins at first Polish registration for imported vehicles. |
A complete pledge profile requires both the civil register (Rejestr Zastawów) and the fiscal register (Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych). Neither covers the other. Checking one and not the other produces an incomplete result.
The limit of what the sources allow
CEIDG itself is a status register, not a security register. It confirms existence and activity. It does not record any charge, pledge, or enforcement measure — and it was not designed to do so. A clean CEIDG result means the trader is registered and active. It says nothing about encumbrances.
The pledge registers cover only what has been formally registered. Contractual pledges not submitted for registration, retention-of-title arrangements, and financial collateral under the 2002 Act fall outside both registers. Their existence can only be established from transaction documents, not from any public register.
KRZ covers insolvency proceedings from December 2021 onward. A proceeding opened before that date will not appear in KRZ. It may appear in MSiG (Monitor Sądowy i Gospodarczy), which is searchable at wyszukiwarka-msig.ms.gov.pl, free of charge, with an archive from 1996. Since December 2021, insolvency announcements have moved to KRZ; MSiG no longer carries them. A complete insolvency check requires both systems, with a clear understanding of the date boundary.
The land register (EKW) cannot be searched by the owner's name. A party that does not already hold the KW number must obtain it from the land cadastre (ewidencja gruntów i budynków), which is administered at the starostwo level. This is a two-step path, not a single query. For a foreign party without a Polish national identifier, obtaining access to the cadastre layer adds a further procedural step.
Where the sources disagree
CEIDG may show a trader as active while KRZ simultaneously shows an open restructuring proceeding. Both records are correct: CEIDG reflects registration status, not financial condition. A restructuring debtor continues to operate; the entry in CEIDG does not change. Treating a clean CEIDG as evidence of financial soundness is a category error.
Similarly, the Biała lista may show an account as active while the same account is subject to a tax authority freeze under enforcement proceedings. The freeze is not reflected in the Biała lista; it appears in the enforcement file, which is not a public register. The gap between what the list shows and what the account's actual status is can be material for payment risk.
Access paths for a foreign party
Most Polish registers require a Polish national identifier (NIP or PESEL) for the subject of the search, not for the searcher. CEIDG, KRZ, and the Biała lista can be queried freely without any identifier on the searcher's side. The pledge registers require submission of a formal request; the Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych query goes through e-Urząd Skarbowy, which requires a profil zaufany or qualified electronic signature for full functionality.
The EKW path is the most constrained. Without the KW number, the register cannot be entered. Obtaining the KW number from the land cadastre requires knowledge of the cadastral parcel identifier (numer działki ewidencyjnej) and, in some starostwa, an in-person request or a request with a qualified signature. A foreign party without a Polish address or identifier will encounter this barrier directly.
The vehicle history system (historiapojazdu.gov.pl) requires three data points simultaneously: registration number, VIN, and date of first registration. The date of first registration appears only in the vehicle registration document (dowód rejestracyjny), which is held by the current owner. This is a deliberate barrier against bulk verification. The system does not disclose the owner's name; it shows only a count of previous registered owners.
What the registers are and what the removed path costs
CEIDG, KRZ, the Biała lista, and the EKW viewer are public registers, free of charge. The pledge registers charge modest statutory fees per certificate. What a foreign party is paying for in a factual report is not access to a locked system — it is the removed path: the correct identifier for the subject, the sequence of queries across six registers, the language of the results, the cross-check between registers, and the documented record of what each query returned and when.
A report that says "KRZ: no entry found" is not the same as a report that says "KRZ queried on [date] by NIP [number]: no proceeding found; note that this register covers only proceedings from 1 December 2021 — earlier proceedings were checked in MSiG under the same identifier with the following result." The second formulation is what a lender or buyer can rely on.p>
No. CEIDG records activity codes and registration status. It contains no inventory of assets. Ownership of specific assets must be verified in the relevant register — EKW for real property, Rejestr Zastawów for pledged movables, CEPiK for vehicles. No. The civil pledge register and the fiscal pledge register are separate systems. A clean result in one does not cover the other. Additionally, unregistered contractual arrangements — retention of title, financial collateral — fall outside both registers entirely. No. KRZ contains only proceedings opened from 1 December 2021. Earlier proceedings were published in MSiG, which is searchable separately at wyszukiwarka-msig.ms.gov.pl. Both systems must be checked for a complete picture. It confirms that the trader is registered for VAT (or has been deregistered, with the reason and date shown), and that the listed bank accounts were declared to the tax authority. It does not confirm the absence of tax arrears, enforcement proceedings, or account freezes. Polish land register law does not permit name-based searches by private parties. The KW number is the entry point. Obtaining it from the land cadastre is a separate procedural step that requires the cadastral parcel identifier and, in some jurisdictions, a formal request with identification.Frequently asked questions
Does a CEIDG extract confirm that the trader owns the assets described in the sale agreement?
Is a clean result in the Rejestr Zastawów sufficient to confirm that an asset is unencumbered?
Can KRZ be used to check insolvency history before December 2021?
What does a clean Biała lista result confirm?
Why is the EKW search limited to KW number?
Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. KORDECKI & Partners assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@kordeckipartners.com.