A foreign buyer or lender examining Polish commercial property as collateral faces a fragmented verification landscape. Ownership, encumbrances, insolvency status, and tax standing each sit in a separate register. None of those registers automatically cross-references the others. This page maps what each source discloses, what it costs to access, and where the chain of evidence stops.
- Primary ownership register
- Elektroniczne Księgi Wieczyste (EKW) — land and mortgage book. Access is free. Search requires the KW number; name-based search is not available to private parties. Source: EKW · retrieved 2026-08-06
- Pledge registers
- Two separate systems exist: Rejestr Zastawów (Ministry of Justice) and Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych (Ministry of Finance). A full pledge profile requires both. Source: Centralna Informacja / e-Urząd Skarbowy · retrieved 2026-08-06
- Insolvency register
- Krajowy Rejestr Zadłużonych (KRZ) is public and free. It covers proceedings opened after 1 December 2021 only. Earlier proceedings are not visible here. Source: krz.ms.gov.pl · retrieved 2026-08-06
- Beneficial ownership
- Centralny Rejestr Beneficjentów Rzeczywistych (CRBR) is open and free, without login. Declared data only — no independent verification by the register. Source: CRBR · retrieved 2026-08-06
Why collateral verification in Poland requires multiple registers
Polish law separates real property encumbrances from movable pledges, tax charges, and insolvency proceedings into distinct registers operated by different ministries. A charge registered in the Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych does not appear in EKW. An insolvency proceeding opened before December 2021 does not appear in KRZ. Relying on any single register produces an incomplete picture of collateral risk.
The KW number is the entry point for real property. Without it, EKW cannot be searched by name. The number is obtained from the land cadastre (ewidencja gruntów i budynków), which is a separate system maintained at the district level. This two-step path is a structural barrier for a foreign party without a Polish national identifier or local access.
What CEIDG discloses — and what it does not
CEIDG (Centralna Ewidencja i Informacja o Działalności Gospodarczej) registers sole traders (jednoosobowa działalność gospodarcza). It is public and free. For commercial property transactions, CEIDG is relevant when the seller or borrower operates as a natural person running a business rather than through a corporate vehicle.
CEIDG discloses the registered name, NIP, REGON, registered address, declared activity codes (PKD), and status (active, suspended, struck off). It does not disclose financial statements, court-ordered restrictions, or pledge registrations. A clean CEIDG record does not confirm the absence of encumbrances on assets used in the business.
| Data point | Available in CEIDG | Source if not in CEIDG |
|---|---|---|
| Registered name and NIP | Yes | — |
| Business status (active / suspended / struck off) | Yes | — |
| Declared activity codes (PKD) | Yes | — |
| Registered address | Yes | — |
| Pledges on movable assets | No | Rejestr Zastawów / Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych |
| Real property mortgages | No | EKW (requires KW number) |
| Insolvency or restructuring proceedings | No | KRZ (post-Dec 2021); MSiG archive (pre-Dec 2021) |
| VAT status and registered bank accounts | No | Biała lista (podatki.gov.pl) |
| Financial statements | No | Repozytorium Dokumentów Finansowych (KRS) |
| Beneficial owner declaration | No | CRBR (for entities subject to AML law) |
The pledge register split: Rejestr Zastawów and Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych
Two pledge registers operate in parallel. The Rejestr Zastawów, administered by the Ministry of Justice through Centralna Informacja, covers contractual pledges (zastaw rejestrowy) on movable property and rights. A certificate confirming the pledgor's pledge profile (DW-1) costs 20 PLN. A certificate by pledge subject (DW-2) costs 20 PLN. A certified extract (DW-4) costs 15 PLN per item.
The Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych, administered by the Ministry of Finance, covers tax security pledges arising by operation of law. Search by subject is free via e-Urząd Skarbowy. A formal certificate (wypis/zaświadczenie) costs 50 PLN. Neither register is linked to EKW. A clean result in one register does not eliminate risk under the other.
| Register | Administrator | Type of pledge | Search cost | Formal certificate |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Rejestr Zastawów | Ministry of Justice (Centralna Informacja) | Contractual registered pledge | Free (basic search) | DW-1 / DW-2: 20 PLN each; DW-4: 15 PLN |
| Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych | Ministry of Finance (e-Urząd Skarbowy) | Tax security pledge (statutory) | Free | 50 PLN |
KRZ and the insolvency cut-off date
The Krajowy Rejestr Zadłużonych (KRZ) at krz.ms.gov.pl is public, free, and requires no login. It covers bankruptcy, restructuring, and debt relief proceedings. Search is by PESEL, NIP, KRS number, or case signature.
KRZ contains only proceedings opened on or after 1 December 2021. It replaced the Rejestr Dłużników Niewypłacalnych. For proceedings opened before that date, the source is MSiG (Monitor Sądowy i Gospodarczy), whose archive at wyszukiwarka-msig.ms.gov.pl is free. A negative result in KRZ alone does not confirm the absence of an earlier insolvency. Both sources must be checked.
Biała lista: VAT status and bank accounts as collateral signals
The Biała lista (White List of VAT Taxpayers), maintained by the Head of KAS at podatki.gov.pl, is free and requires no login. It discloses VAT status, entity identifiers, declared bank accounts, and the reasons and dates of any exclusion, refusal, or reinstatement. Historical status can be checked for any past date.
The bank account field is particularly relevant for collateral analysis. A payment made to an account not on the list triggers joint and several VAT liability for the payer. This makes account verification a mandatory step in any Polish commercial transaction.
CRBR: beneficial ownership declarations
The Centralny Rejestr Beneficjentów Rzeczywistych (CRBR) is open, free, and accessible without login. It covers entities subject to Polish AML law, including companies, partnerships, and trusts. The register discloses declared beneficial owners with name, PESEL or date of birth, nationality, and the nature of control.
CRBR data is self-reported. The register does not independently verify the accuracy of declarations. A discrepancy between CRBR and KRS ownership data is itself a finding that warrants further analysis.
EKW: land and mortgage book access path
The Elektroniczne Księgi Wieczyste (EKW) system is free to search. However, search is possible only by KW (Księga Wieczysta) number — not by owner name. For a foreign party, obtaining the KW number requires access to the district-level land cadastre (ewidencja gruntów i budynków). The cadastre is a separate system. Access for parties without a Polish national identifier requires a formal request or a local representative.
EKW discloses the property description, current owner, and all registered encumbrances including mortgages (hipoteki), easements, and other rights. Section IV of the land book lists mortgages in order of priority. A verified EKW extract is the primary document for real property collateral assessment.
The limit of what the sources allow
Each register discloses only what has been formally submitted to it. No register cross-checks another. The following limits are structural and cannot be resolved by additional searches within the same system:
- EKW requires the KW number. Without it, no name-based search is possible for private parties. The number must be obtained from the cadastre separately.
- KRZ covers insolvency proceedings from 1 December 2021 only. Earlier proceedings require a separate MSiG archive search.
- CRBR contains self-declared data. The register does not verify accuracy. A declared beneficial owner may differ from the effective controller.
- Rejestr Zastawów and Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych are separate systems. A clean result in one does not eliminate encumbrances registered in the other.
- CEIDG covers sole traders only. Corporate sellers and borrowers are in KRS, not CEIDG. A CEIDG search on a company name returns no result — not because the entity is clean, but because it is in a different register.
- Financial statements filed in the Repozytorium Dokumentów Finansowych reflect reported figures. They do not disclose off-balance-sheet arrangements or contingent liabilities.
The ceiling of what the sources allow is stated before payment. Where a source stops, the report states the stopping point and the reason — not a gap in the analysis, but a defined boundary of the register itself.
Where the sources disagree
Discrepancies between registers are themselves findings. The following patterns are encountered in Polish commercial property verification:
- CRBR declares a beneficial owner who does not appear as a shareholder in KRS — possible nominee arrangement or outdated KRS filing.
- EKW shows a mortgage that does not appear in the seller's financial statements — off-balance-sheet liability or filing delay.
- Biała lista shows a bank account different from the account in the sale contract — requires verification before payment.
- KRS shows an active company; KRZ shows an open restructuring proceeding — the company continues to trade under court supervision.
What is included at each tier
| Tier | Price (EUR) | Included | Not included |
|---|---|---|---|
| Signal | €590 | KRS / CEIDG status check; CRBR beneficial owner extract; KRZ insolvency search; MSiG archive check; Biała lista VAT status and bank account verification; written summary of findings with source citations | EKW land book extract; pledge register searches (Rejestr Zastawów and Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych); financial statement analysis; cadastre KW number retrieval |
| Standard | €990 | All Signal items; KW number retrieval from cadastre; EKW land book extract with mortgage section analysis; Rejestr Zastawów search (DW-1 and DW-2 certificates); Rejestr Zastawów Skarbowych search; consolidated encumbrance table | Financial statement analysis and ratio assessment; off-register encumbrance indicators; legal qualification of findings |
| Extended | €2,200 | All Standard items; three years of filed financial statements from Repozytorium Dokumentów Finansowych; analysis of material balance sheet items relevant to collateral value; MSiG publication history; identification of discrepancies across all sources; written report with source-by-source findings and stated limits | Legal qualification of findings; litigation strategy; valuation of the asset; off-balance-sheet or undisclosed liability confirmation |
Frequently asked questions
Is CEIDG the right register to check for a Polish company selling commercial property?
No. CEIDG covers sole traders only. A company — spółka z o.o., spółka akcyjna, or other corporate form — is registered in KRS (Krajowy Rejestr Sądowy). A CEIDG search on a company name returns no result because the entity is in a different register. Searching CEIDG for a corporate seller confirms nothing about that entity's status.
Does a free EKW search confirm full title?
EKW discloses registered encumbrances and the current owner of record. It does not disclose unregistered claims, pending cadastral corrections, or disputes not yet reflected in the land book. The EKW extract is the starting point for title analysis, not its conclusion.
Can a foreign lender access these registers directly?
KRS, CRBR, KRZ, MSiG, and Biała lista are accessible online without login or national identifier. EKW requires the KW number, which requires a prior cadastre step. Pledge register certificates require submission of a formal application in Polish, with the correct entity identifiers. The practical barrier is not legal prohibition but language, identifier format, and procedural familiarity.
What does a negative KRZ result actually confirm?
A negative KRZ result confirms the absence of an insolvency or restructuring proceeding opened after 1 December 2021. It does not confirm the absence of an earlier proceeding. MSiG must be checked separately for the period before that date.
Disclaimer: This report is a factual compilation from official registers and public sources. It is provided for informational purposes only, does not constitute legal advice, and contains no legal qualification of the facts established. KORDECKI & Partners assumes no liability for actions taken or not taken based on this material. For advice regarding your particular situation, please contact info@kordeckipartners.com.